h1

Quit Slacking!

October 17, 2012

I think I’ve mentioned once or twice that I finally graduated from college. Since that time, I’ve worked on multiple short films, have taken care of my mother a lot, and been to Virginia twice. What I haven’t done is spend much time writing. Yes, I wrote a story for a contest, which I obviously didn’t win, but beyond that I haven’t done much.
I’m extremely lucky. I’ve been afforded a whole year to get myself together, career wise, without needing to be concerned about finding a job. I’m now roughly six months into this period, but I haven’t gotten anything done to show for it. I’ve decided to get my butt in gear.
Starting yesterday, I’m making an effort to write a short story everyday. It doesn’t matter whether the story is one of my better ones or not, it also doesn’t matter if it’s in a genre I feel comfortable writing in; what matters is that I’m writing. I’m not abandoning my screenwriter ambitions nor my desire to write a complete novel; I’m just trying to get through and over my mounting self-doubt that I can make it as a writer. A writer must write, must make efforts towards achieving her/his goals, and until now I’ve not done that.
That changes now. I’ve decided to quit slacking. What about you?

Leave a Reply

